Adapting to urbanization


Urban centers are vast drains on energy resources: worldwide, cities account for more than 70% of energy consumption and for over half of greenhouse gas emissions. By 2050, two thirds of the global population is projected to be urban (up from half currently), further stressing existing energy production and supply infrastructures. In the face of rising urbanization, cities must look towards developing integrated energy planning approaches to ensure sustainable and green living conditions.

Crafting low-carbon pathways with district heating and cooling


A host of initiatives are already mobilizing local governments in promoting clean energy and durable use of resources in urban development (e.g. The Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate & Energy, the UN’s New Urban Agenda). Key to these efforts is improving energy efficiency: in buildings alone, 50% of energy consumption results from heating and cooling needs. In response to this challenge, integrated district energy systems present innovative and modern solutions.

By delivering heat and/or cooling to multiple buildings, district systems can rely on larger, more efficient, and less carbon intensive energy sources than can be connected to single buildings. Where available, heat from industrial processes, waste incineration, or wastewater treatment can provide greener – and less costly – alternatives to fuel oil or natural gas heating. Similarly, free cooling from lakes and rivers is a sustainable and effective substitute to air conditioning in warm climates.

Capable of connecting anywhere from a few homes to hundreds of buildings in a city, district heating and cooling are among the least-cost solutions to mitigate greenhouse gases in urban areas. Cities and municipalities worldwide are already seizing this opportunity to advance along a low-carbon pathway and meet climate action goals.

First Climate:Advising cities worldwide on district energy systems


In Ukraine and in Colombia, on behalf of the Swiss State Secretariat for Economic Affairs, First Climate is currently advising municipalities through the assessment, development and implementation of district energy systems:

  • Since 2011, First Climate is present in Ukraine and supporting the rehabilitation of district heating systems, including feasibility studies, procurement and installation of equipment as well as training of local stakeholders. Located in the cities of Vinnytsia and Zhytomyr, the systems will become fully operational in 2017-2018.
  • In Colombia, First Climate is contributing since 2014 to the implementation of a district cooling network in Medellin – the first of its kind in Latin America and cofunded by Switzerland. In addition, First Climate supports local stakeholders in promoting the replication of such cooling networks across the country’s largest cities.

Contact


Dr. Jochen Gassner

  jochen.gassner@firstclimate.com
  +49 6101  55 658 55

TÜV-Zertifikat "Geprüfte Kompensation"

Konstantin Drozd

  consulting@firstclimate.com
  +41 44 298 28 00

Energiewende und Klimaschutz in der Stadt


Die urbanen Ballungsräume der Gegenwart haben einen immensen Energiebedarf: Rund 70% des weltweiten Energieverbrauchs erfolgt in Städten und dort wird auch rund die Hälfte der globalen Treibhausgasemissionen freigesetzt. Bis 2050 werden rund zwei Drittel der Weltbevölkerung in Städten leben (heute sind es schon rund 50%) und mit der fortschreitenden Urbanisierung wächst auch der Druck auf die Systeme zur Energieerzeugung und -verteilung. Nur mit nachhaltig ausgerichteten, integrierten Konzepten, wird sich die adäquate Energieversorgung der Städte langfristig sicherstellen lassen.

Konzepte für klimafreundliches Heizen und Kühlen


International existieren heute bereits eine Reihe von Initiativen, mit denen Kommunen und lokale Verwaltungen bei der Umsetzung von Nachhaltigkeitskonzepten für die städtische Energieversorgung unterstützt werden. Dazu gehören beispielsweise der Globale Pakt der Bürgermeister für Klima und Energie oder die Neue Städteagenda der Vereinten Nationen. Kernbestandteil dieser Konzepte ist die Erhöhung der Energieeffizienz und in diesem Zusammenhang spielen Heizung und Kühlung eine wichtige Rolle. Die dafür benötigte Energie ist für rund 50% des Gesamtenergiebedarfs eines Gebäudes verantwortlich. Integrierte Fernenergiesysteme können einen wichtigen Beitrag dazu leisten, den Energiebedarf in diesem Bereich nachhaltig zu senken.

Fernwärme- bzw. Fernkühlungsnetze bieten gegenüber dezentralen Lösungen zur Temperierung von Wohn- und Gewerbeimmobilien deutliche Effizienzvorteile. Sind die entsprechenden Voraussetzungen erfüllt, kann Wärme, die aus industriellen Prozessen, aus der Müllverbrennung oder der Abwasserbehandlung ausgekoppelt wird, eine umweltfreundliche und kostengünstige Alternativen zur Heizöl- oder Erdgasheizung sein. In ähnlicher Weise können Kühleffekte durch Seen oder Flüssen insbesondere in warmen Klimazonen ein nachhaltiger und wirksamer Ersatz für konventionelle Klimatisierungsmaßnahmen sein.

Unabhängig von ihrer Größe stellen Fernwärme- und Fernkühlungsnetze eine der kostengünstigsten und effektivsten Möglichkeiten dar, um den innerstädtischen Treibhausgasausstoß wirksam zu reduzieren.

Beratungsangebote rund um effiziente Fernenergienetze für Städte und Kommunen


Im Auftrag des Schweizer Staatssekretariats für Wirtschaft berät First Climate derzeit Kommunen in der Ukraine und in Kolumbien bei der Bewertung, Entwicklung und Implementierung von Fernenergiesystemen:

  • Seit 2011 begleitet und unterstützt First Climate die Sanierung von Fernwärmesystemen in der Ukraine – u.a. durch die Erstellung von Machbarkeitsstudien, durch die Beschaffung und Installation technischer Systeme und durch die Schulung lokaler Mitarbeiter.
  • In Kolumbien trägt First Climate seit 2014 zum Aufbau eines Fernkühlungsnetzes in Medellín bei. Dieses erste System seiner Art in Lateinamerika wird von der Schweiz kofinanziert. Darüber hinaus unterstützt lokale Initiativen, die sich für die weitere Verbreitung dieser Systeme in Kolumbien einsetzen.

Kontakt


Dr. Jochen Gassner

  jochen.gassner@firstclimate.com
  +49 6101  55 658 55

TÜV-Zertifikat "Geprüfte Kompensation"

Nikolaus Wohlgemuth

  consulting@firstclimate.com
  +41 44 298 28 00